Taxonomic Categories Quiz and Answers (Biology Quiz)

These Taxonomic Categories Quiz and Answers are most important to your upcoming examination. The taxonomic classification of a living organism is an arbitrary human construct — it’s just our best guess at where animals sit on the tree of life, and which category they fit into. You may be surprised at some of the animals that share categories with other creatures that you wouldn’t expect.

Taxonomic Categories Quiz and Answers

1. Sexual reproduction must involve parents from _________

a) Same kingdom

b) Same phylum

c) Same genus

d) Same species

Answer: d

2. Cats and lions belong to the family called ________

a) Canidae

b) Panthera

c) Felidae

d) Mammalia

Answer: c

3. The action that the environment does on an organism is called ________

a) Response

b) Stimuli

c) Reflex

d) Reaction

Answer: b

4. Animal kingdom is classified into different phyla based on ____________

a) Type of blood they have

b) The presence or absence of vertebral column.

c) Place they live

d) Food they eat on

Answer: b

5. Pick the odd one out.

a) Humans

b) Cats

c) Ape

d) Monkey

Answer: b

6. Bats belong to the class ________

a) Chiroptera

b) Mammalia

c) Scrotifera

d) Chordata

Answer: b

7. Scientific name of housefly is _________

a) Musca domestica

b) Eurycotis floridana

c) Oryctolagus cuniculus

d) Anopheles albimanus

Answer: a

8. Potato, Tomato and Brinjal belong to the order called ______________

a) Solanum

b) Solanaceae

c) Convolvulacae

d) Polymonioles

Answer: d

9. Orders are grouped to form a __________

a) Family

b) Genus

c) Class

d) Phylum

Answer: c

10. German Shepherd, Chihuahua, Pug, Basenji belongs to ___________

a) Same species

b) Same genus

c) Same family

d) Same class

Answer: a

11. The study of relationships among different organisms is called _________

a) Taxonomy

b) Biology

c) Systematics

d) Ornithology

Answer: d

FAQs on Taxonomic Categories

What are taxonomic categories?

Taxonomic categories are hierarchical. The various groups are divided into species, genus, and family. The classification starts with categories at the highest level, the kingdom and kingdom name, followed by phylum and phylum name, then class, class name and so on up to species.

How are taxonomic categories determined?

Taxonomy is the practice of identifying different organisms, classifying them into categories, and naming them. Basically, taxonomy answers the question of how we classify different organisms . All organisms, both living and extinct, are classified into distinct groups with other similar organisms and given a scientific name. Taxonomy is hierarchical, which means that all organisms are organized in a categorization system.

What are the 8 taxonomic categories from top to bottom?

Taxonomy is the theory of scientific classification. The current taxonomic system now has eight levels in its hierarchy, from lowest to highest, they are: species, genus, family, order, class, phylum, kingdom, domain.

How many taxonomic categories are there?

The hierarchy of the taxonomic ranks is as follows: kingdom, phylum/division, class, order , family, genus, species .

How to remember taxonomic categories?

The taxonomic categories in biology are Domain, Kingdom, Phylum, Class, Order, Family, Genus and Species. To accommodate the standards of scientific nomenclature these categories must be used in the correct order. “Dear King Philip Came Over For Good Soup” is a mnemonic device that was originally developed to help students remember this important classification system.

Which taxonomic categories refers only to plants?

There are two major forms of plant classification: the scientific classifications used by botanists and the taxonomic treatments used by horticulturalists. Scientific classification began with naturalists who gave names to organisms based on characteristics they observed. Botanists use scientific classification to organize living things into a hierarchy.