Sahitya Akademi Awards 2021

With reference to the Sahitya Akademi Awards 2021, consider the following statements:

(1) The first Awards were given in 1995.
(2) The award amount is now Rs.1,00,000.

Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

A. 1 only
B. 2 only
C. Both 1 and 2
D. Neither 1 nor 2

Answer: 2 only

Explanation: Sahitya Akademi has announced its annual Sahitya Akademi Awards in 20 languages.

Seven books of poetry, two novels, five short stories, two plays, one biography, one autobiography, one critique and one Epic Poetry have won the Sahitya Akademi Awards 2021.

Awards in Gujrati, Maithili, Manipuri and Urdu languages will be announced at a later date.

Assamese writers Anuradha Sarma Pujari and Namita Gokhale have won the award in the novel category.

Awardees for Poetry category include Mwdai Gahai in Bodo, Sanjiv Verenkar in Konkani, Hrushikesh Mallick in Odia and Vindeshwari Prasad in Telegu.

Every year since its inception in 1954, the Sahitya Akademi Award prizes to the most outstanding books of literary merit published in any of the major Indian languages recognised by the Akademi.

The award amount is now Rs.1,00,000. The first Awards were given in 1955.