Countries that share land boundaries with China

Which of the following countries share land boundaries with China?

1. Mongolia
2. Russia
3. Bhutan

Select the correct answer using the code given below:

A. 1 only
B. 1 and 2 only
C. 2 and 3 only
D. 1, 2 and 3

Answer: 1, 2 and 3

Explanation: China’s new law on land borders, passed on October 23, came into effect on January 1. This has happened at a time when the border standoff in eastern Ladakh remains unresolved, when China has renamed several places in Arunachal Pradesh as part of its claim on the Indian state.

The Standing Committee of China’s National People’s Congress passed the law for the “protection and exploitation of the country’s land border areas”.

It mandates the state to take measures “to strengthen border defence, support economic and social development as well as opening-up in border areas, improve public services and infrastructure in such areas, encourage and support people’s life and work there, and promote coordination between border defence and social, economic development in border areas”.

This means that it is encouraging the development of villages for civilians in the border areas.

The law lays down four conditions under which the state can impose emergency measures, including border shutdown.

Although the law is not meant specifically for India, it is bound to have some impact.

China and India share a disputed 3,488-km boundary, the third longest among China’s 22,457-km land boundaries with 14 countries, after the borders with Mongolia and Russia.

Besides India, Bhutan (477 km) is the only other country with which China has a disputed land border.