Indian physicist Deepak Dhar Wins the Boltzmann Medal

Pune-based physicist Deepak Dhar has been selected for the prestigious Boltzmann medal. The medal is awarded every two years to a scientist by the Commission on Statistical Physics (C3) of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics.

Indian physicist Deepak Dhar Wins the Boltzmann Medal

About Deepak Dhar

Deepak Dhar has been chosen for this award for his contributions in the field of statistical physics, including universal long-time relaxation in disordered magnetic systems, exact solutions in percolation and cluster counting problems, and the definition of spectral dimension of fractals.

Born30 October 1951 (age 70)
Pratapgarh, Uttar Pradesh, Indi
Alma materUniversity of Allahabad
IIT Kanpur
California Institute of Technology
Known forStudies on statistical physics and stochastic processes
Awards1983 INSA Young Scientist Medal
1991 Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize
1993 ICTP J. Robert Schrieffer Prize
2001 INSA S. N. Bose Medal
2002 TWAS Prize
IITK Distinguished Alumni Award

Deepak Dhar becomes the first Indian to win this award, which was initiated in 1975, with Nobel laureate (1982) K.G. Wilson being the first recipient.

Deepak Dhar shares the platform with American scientist John J. Hopfield who is known for his invention of an associative neural network, now named after him.

The award consists of the gilded Boltzmann medal with the inscription of Ludwig Boltzmann, and the chosen two scientists will be presented the medals at the StatPhys28 conference to be held in Tokyo, 7-11 August 2023.

The medal, which honors outstanding achievements in the field of statistical physics, has been given to one or two persons, once in three years, in the last 47 years.

It is given only once to a person and on the condition that that person has not won the Nobel prize so far.