Congress Session: Banaras, Calcutta, and Surat MCQ and Answers

Congress Session: Banaras, Calcutta, and Surat MCQ and Answers: This blog post is all about the three Congress sessions that took place in Banaras, Calcutta, and Surat. In each of these sessions, a number of questions were asked and answered. Here, we’ll take a look at some of the most important questions and answers from each of these sessions.

Other Relevant Links

Revolution of 1857Political Institution Established before Congress
Freedom Movements of IndiaIndian National Congress
Educational Development in Modern IndiaModerate Groups and Extremist Groups in Congress
Morley-Minto ReformsRevolutionary Movement in India
Social and Religious MovementRevolutionary Activities Outside India

Congress Session: Banaras, Calcutta and Surat MCQ and Answers

1 Who presided over the Banaras Session of the Indian National Congress in 1905?

(A) Surendra Nath Banerjee

(B) Feroz Shah Mehta

(C) Gopal Krishna Gokhale

(D) Dinshaw Wacha

Answer: (C)

2. In which year Gopal Krishna Gokhale founded ‘Servants of India Society’?

(A) 1902

(B) 1903

(C) 1904

(D) 1905

Answer: (D)

3. Which of the following leaders presided over the Congress Session at Calcutta in 1906?

(A) B.G. Tilak

(B) G.K. Gokhale

(C) Aurobindo Ghosh

(D) Dadabhai Naoroji

Answer: (D)

4. Gopal Krishna Gokhale presided over the session of Congress in

(A) 1902

(B) 1905

(C) 1906

(D) 1909

Answer: (B)

5. Swaraj as a national demand was first made by

(A) B.G. Tilak

(B) C.R. Das

(C) Dadabhai Naoroji

(D) Mahatma Gandhi

Answer: (C)

6. Congress passed the ‘Swaraj’ resolution in the year 1905. The purpose of the resolution was

(A) right to make a constitution for themselves but it was not done

(B) to secure self-rule

(C) responsible Government

(D) self-Government

Answer: (B)

7. The first leader to use the word ‘Swaraj’ was

(A) Bal Gangadhar Tilak

(B) Lala Lajpat Rai

(C) Dayanand Saraswati

(D) Mahatma Gandhi

Answer: (C)

8. In which of the following sessions of Indian National Congress, the word ‘Swaraj’ was uttered for the first time?

(A) Banaras Session, 1905

(B) Calcutta Session, 1906

(C) Surat Session, 1907

(D) None of the above

Answer: (B)

9. First Indian elected to the British House of Commons was Dadabhai Naoroji who contested on the ticket of

(A) Liberal Party

(B) Labour Party

(C) Conservative Party

(D) Communist Party

Answer: (A)

10. Dadabhai Naoroji was formally known as

(A) Punjab Kesari

(B) Gujarat Ratna

(C) Guru Dev

(D) Grand Old Man of India

Answer: (D)

11. Who among the following is known by the title of ‘The Grand Old Man’?

(A) Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan

(B) W.C. Banerjee

(C) Dadabhai Naoroji

(D) Motilal Nehru

Answer: (C)

12. Who was called the ‘Grand Old Man of India’?

(A) Dadabhai Naoroji

(B) Gopal Krishna Gokhale

(C) Ramesh Chandra Banerjee

(D) Sir Syed Ahmad Khan

Answer: (A)

13. Which one of the following statements is not correct about Dadabhai Naoroji?

(A) He was the first Indian to be appointed as Professor of Mathematics and Physics at Elphinstone College, Bombay

(B) He was elected as the member of British Parliament in 1892

(C) He started a Gujarati Journal, ‘Rast Goftar’

(D) For four times he had presided over the Indian National Congress

Answer: (D)

14. Which one of the following statements is not correct about Dadabhai Naoroji?

(A) He wrote a book ‘Poverty and Un-British Rule in India’

(B) He worked as a Professor of Gujarati in the University College, London

(C) He laid the foundation of woman’s education in Bombay

(D) He was elected as a member of British Parliament on the ticket of the Conservative Party

Answer: (D)

15. At which session was the Indian National Congress (INC) divided into two groups – ‘Naram Dal’ and ‘Garam Dal’?

(A) Bombay

(B) Surat

(C) Allahabad

(D) Lahore

Answer: (B)

16. Who was first Indian to be elected to the British Parliament?

(A) Ras Bihari Bose

(B) Surendra Nath Banerjee

(C) Dadabhai Naoroji

(D) Vithalbhai Patel

Answer: (C)

17. The President of the Surat Session of Indian National Congress (1907) was

(A) Dadabhai Naoroji

(B) Bal Gangadhar Tilak

(C) Gopal Krishna Gokhale

(D) R.B. Ghosh

Answer: (D)

18. Where did the Indian Congress got divided into two wings moderates and extremists?

(A) Surat Session, 1907

(B) Lahore Session, 1909

(C) Calcutta Session, 1911

(D) Karachi Session, 1913

Answer: (A)

19. The process of split in the Congress in the early years of the twentieth century began over

(A) Strategies of the Congress Movement

(B) Objectives of the Congress

(C) Participation of the people in the Congress Movement

(D) All of the above

Answer: (D)

20. When was the first partition of Indian National Congress was held?

(A) 1907

(B) 1906

(C) 1969

(D) 1911

Answer: (A)

21. ‘Split of Surat’ in Indian National Congress was held in

(A) 1905

(B) 1906

(C) 1907

(D) 1908

Answer: (C)

22. What was the main reason for the split in the Indian National Congress at Surat in 1907?

(A) Introduction of communalism into Indian politics by Lord Minto

(B) Extremists’ lack of faith in the capacity of the moderates to negotiate with the British Government

(C) Foundation of Muslim League

(D) Aurobindo Ghosh’s inability to be elected as the President of the Indian National Congress

Answer: (B)

23. Surat split was led by

(A) Hume

(B) Dufferin

(C) Tilak

(D) Gandhiji

Answer: (C)

Other Relevant Links

Cabinet Mission Plan (1946)Second World War
Constituent Assembly (1946)Demand for Pakistan
Formation of Interim Government (1946)Individual Satyagraha (1940)
Partition of India and IndependenceCripps Mission (1942)
Constitution Development of IndiaQuit India Movement