Constituent Assembly (1946) MCQ and Answers

Constituent Assembly (1946) MCQ and Answers: The Constituent Assembly election of 1946 was a pivotal moment in Indian history. The election was held to select members of the Constituent Assembly, which would draft the Constitution of India. The election was bitterly contested, and the results were close. Here are some of the most important questions and answers about the election.

Other Relevant Links

Revolution of 1857Political Institution Established before Congress
Freedom Movements of IndiaIndian National Congress
Educational Development in Modern IndiaModerate Groups and Extremist Groups in Congress
Indian Princely StatesRevolutionary Movement in India
Social and Religious MovementRevolutionary Activities Outside India

Constituent Assembly (1946) MCQ and Answers

1. Which one of the following leaders of the Congress was totally in favour of the Cabinet Mission Plan?

(A) Mahatma Gandhi

(B) Jawaharlal Nehru

(C) Sardar Patel

(D) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad

Answer: (A)

2. Which one of the following gave the idea of Constituent Assembly for India?

(A) Simon Commission

(B) Rajaji Formula

(C) Cabinet Mission Plan

(D) Wavell Plan

Answer: (C)

3. Who was the President of Indian National Congress during the visit of Cabinet Mission to India?

(A) Jawaharlal Nehru

(B) J.B. Kripalani

(C) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad

(D) Sarojini Naidu

Answer: (C)

4. Which one of the following first mooted the idea of a Constituent Assembly to frame a Constitution for India?

(A) Swaraj Party in 1935

(B) Congress Party in 1936

(C) Muslim League in 1942

(D) All Parties Conference in 1946

Answer: (B)

5. Under the Cabinet Mission Plan, the total number of seats allotted to each province in the Constituent Assembly was roughly in the ratio of one representative to the population of

(A) 8 lakh persons

(B) 10 lakh persons

(C) 11 lakh persons

(D) 12 lakh persons

Answer: (B)

6. The first session of the Constituent Assembly was held on

(A) 16th August, 1947

(B) 26th January, 1948

(C) 9th December, 1946

(D) 26th November, 1946

Answer: (C)

7. The Constituent Assembly that framed India’s constitution was set up

(A) Under the Indian Independence Act

(B) Under the Government of India Act, 1935

(C) By the Queen’s Proclamation

(D) Under the Cabinet Mission Plan

Answer: (D)

8. The first President of the Sovereign Constituent Assembly for the Dominion of India was

(A) C. Rajagopalachari

(B) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad

(C) Rajendra Prasad

(D) Sachchidananda Sinha

Answer: (C)

9. Who among the following was the President of the Indian Constituent Assembly?

(A) Dr. Rajendra Prasad

(B) Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru

(C) Sardar Patel

(D) Dr. B.R. Ambedkar

Answer: (A)

10. Sachchidananda Sinha was associated with

(A) Quit India Movement

(B) Dandi March

(C) Civil Disobedience Movement

(D) None of the above

Answer: (A)

11. Which one of the following statements is correct?

(A) The Constituent Assembly of India was elected by the Provincial Assemblies in the year 1946

(B) Jawaharlal Nehru, M.A. Jinnah and Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel were members of the Constituent Assembly of India

(C) The first session of the Constituent Assembly of India was held in January, 1947

(D) The Constitution of India was adopted on 26th January, 1950

Answer: (A)

12. Who among the following held the Office of Speaker in Central Legislative Assembly of British era and the Parliament of free India?

(A) Sir Abdur Rahim

(B) G.V. Mavlankar

(C) Ananat Shayanam Ayanger

(D) Vithalbhai Patel

Answer: (B)

Other Relevant Links

Partition of Bengal (1905) and the Indigenous MovementLucknow Session of Congress
Congress Session: Banaras, Calcutta and SuratHome Rule League Movement
Formation of Muslim League (1906)Gandhi and His Early Movements
Morley-Minto ReformsPeasant Movement and Kisan Sabha
Delhi Durbar and Change of CapitalTrade Union and Communist Party

Categories: History

%d bloggers like this: