Morley-Minto Reforms MCQ and Answer

Morley-Minto Reforms MCQ and Answer: The Morley-Minto Reforms were a series of changes to the British Indian Act of 1885. The act aimed to give more rights to Indian men, including the right to vote and hold office. The reforms were named after the two British MPs who sponsored the bill, Henry Morley and William Minto.

Other Relevant Links

Revolution of 1857Political Institution Established before Congress
Freedom Movements of IndiaIndian National Congress
Educational Development in Modern IndiaModerate Groups and Extremist Groups in Congress
Indian Princely StatesRevolutionary Movement in India
Social and Religious MovementRevolutionary Activities Outside India

Morley-Minto Reforms MCQ and Answer

1. Morley-Minto Reform Bill was passed in

(A) 1905

(B) 1909

(C) 1911

(D) 1920

Answer: (B)

2. Seeds of discard were in which event during National Movement and which eventually divided the country, was

(A) Establishment of the Muslim League in 1906

(B) Division of Bengal in 1905

(C) Khilafat Movement Supported by Gandhiji

(D) Reservation of seats and separate electorates for Muslims in legislative assemblies

Answer: (D)

3. The Indian Council Act of 1909 was provided for

(A) Dyarchy

(B) Communal representation

(C) Federation

(D) Provincial autonomy

Answer: (B)

4. Which of the following statements regarding Morley-Minto Reforms is NOT correct?

(A) It retained official majority in the Central Legislative Council but allowed the provincial legislative councils to have non-official majority.

(B) It introduced a system of communal representation for Muslims by accepting the concept of ‘separate electorate’.

(C) It granted a franchise to a limited number of people on the basis of property, tax, or education.

(D) All of the above

Answer: (C)

5. The provision for separate electorate for Hindus and Muslims was made in

(A) Government of India Act, 1935

(B) Montague Cheimsford reforms

(C) Morley-Minto reforms

(D) Mountbatten Plan

Answer: (C)

6. The Indian Councils Act 1909 is known as ______.

(A) Montague Chelmsford Reforms

(B) Minto Morley Reforms

(C) Cabinet Mission Plan

(D) Cripps Mission Plan

Answer: (B)

7. Under which reform/act, non-official majority was introduced in the provincial legislative councils?

(A) Montague-Chelmsford reforms

(B) Government of India Act, 1935

(C) Indian Councils Act, 1861

(D) Morley-Minto reforms

Answer: (D)

8. Which among the following statements is correct regarding the Morley-Minto reforms?

(A) Elected members were to be directly elected

(B) Separate electorates for Muslims, Sikhs, and Anglo Indians for election to the central council was provided for

(C) The decrease in the number of elected members in the Imperial Legislative Council

(D) Indians were allowed to participate in the election of legislative councils

Answer: (D)

9. The 1909 Act was related to?

(A) The introduction of separate electorate

(B) Decentralization

(C) Diarchy

(D) Legislative Council

Answer: (A)

10. Which among the following is an important pact in the history of the Indian Freedom Struggle that unifies the Congress and Muslim League in the country?

(A) Bombay Pact

(B) Poona Pact

(C) Maharashtra Pact

(D) Lucknow Pact

Answer: (D)

11. The Indian Councils Act of 1909 was also known as Morley-Minto Reforms where Lord Morley was the then

(A) Viceroy of India

(B) Governor General of India

(C) Secretary of State for India

(D) Chairman of The Indian Legislative Council

Answer: (C)

12. For the first time “Responsible governance” word was used in which act?

(A) Government of India act, 1909

(B) Government of India act, 1919

(C) Government of India act, 1935

(D) None of these

Answer: (B)

13. What was the objective of the Morley-Minto Reforms passed in 1909?

(A) To bring women into politics

(B) Increasing participation of Indians in the Assembly

(C) Preparing for cooperation in World War

(D) Implementing separate electoral system

Answer: (D)

14. Which of the following event happened first?

(A) Montagu-Chelmsford Reforms

(B) Simon Commission

(C) Minto Morley Reforms

(D) Communal Award

Answer: (C)

15. Consider the following statements about the Morley-Minto reforms of 1909:

1. They were named after the British Parliamentarians, Minto and Morley.

2. They provided for limited self-government by increasing the number of elected Indians in the Legislative Councils

3. They contained provisions that ensured that British officials retained their majority in the Imperial Legislative Council

Which of the statements given above is / are correct?

(A) 1 only

(B) 2 and 3 only

(C) 1 and 3 only

(D) 1, 2 and 3

Answer: (B)

16. The Indian Council Act of 1909 also known as which of the following reforms of the British era?

(A) Morely-Minto Reforms

(B) Cripps Mission

(C) Wavell Plan

(D) Prohibition of Sati & Female infanticide

Answer: (A)

17. Which of the following marked the establishment of communal election in India?

(A) Regulating Act 1773

(B) Charter Act 1833

(C) The Indian Councils Act 1909

(D) Charter Act 1853

Answer: (C)

18. The provision for separate electorate for Muslims was given in

(A) Morley-Minto Reforms, 1909

(B) Montagu-Chelmsford Reforms, 1919

(C) Communal Award, 1932

(D) Government of India Act, 1935

Answer: (A)

19. Morley-Minto reforms empowered the Viceroy to nominate one Indian member to his executive council. Who was the first Indian to join the Viceroy’s Executive Council?

(A) Sachidanand Sinha

(B) Satyendra Prasad Sinha

(C) B R Ambedkar

(D) Dr Rajendra Prasad

Answer: (B)

20. Consider the following statements about Morley Minto reforms

1. It provided separate electorates for Muslims, Sikhs, Indian Christians, and Anglo-Indians.

2. It introduced direct elections in the country for the first time.

3. One Indian was to be appointed to the viceroy’s executive council

Which of the above statement(s) is/are correct?

(A) 1, 2 and 3 only

(B) 3 only

(C) 2 and 3 only

(D) 1 and 3 only

Answer: (B)

Other Relevant Links

Cabinet Mission Plan (1946)Second World War
Constituent Assembly (1946)Demand for Pakistan
Formation of Interim Government (1946)Individual Satyagraha (1940)
Partition of India and IndependenceCripps Mission (1942)
Constitution Development of IndiaQuit India Movement

Categories: History


%d bloggers like this: