Provincial Election and Formation of Cabinet (1937) MCQ and Answers

Provincial Election and Formation of Cabinet (1937) MCQ and Answers: The Provincial Election and Formation of Cabinet in India (1937) MCQ and Answers provides an in-depth look at the political process of the time. The questions and answers format makes it easy to understand the complex topics covered in the blog. Whether you’re a student of Indian history or just interested in the topic, this blog is a must-read.

Other Relevant Links

Revolution of 1857Political Institution Established before Congress
Freedom Movements of IndiaIndian National Congress
Educational Development in Modern IndiaModerate Groups and Extremist Groups in Congress
Indian Princely StatesRevolutionary Movement in India
Social and Religious MovementRevolutionary Activities Outside India

Provincial Election and Formation of Cabinet (1937) MCQ and Answers

1. The province where the Indian National Congress could not get absolute majority during the general election of 1937 was

(A) Bombay

(B) Assam

(C) Orissa

(D) Bihar

Answer: (B)

2. In which of the following States Congress did not won an absolute majority in the elections for the Legislative Assemblies which were held under the 1935 Act?

(A) Madras

(B) Bihar

(C) Orissa

(D) Bengal

Answer: (D)

3. The Provincial Governments were constituted under the Act of

(A) 1935

(B) 1932

(C) 1936

(D) 1947

Answer: (A)

4. In which of the following province Indian National Congress had not obtained a full majority in provincial legislature elections held in 1937?

(A) Central Province

(B) Bihar

(C) Punjab

(D) Madras

Answer: (C)

5. The province where Indian National Congress did not form its ministry after general elections of 1937 was

(A) Bengal

(B) Bihar

(C) Madras

(D) Orissa

Answer: (A)

6. In 1937 elections, Congress secured a clear majority in the State numbering.

(A) Three

(B) Four

(C) Five

(D) Six

Answer: (D)

7. In how many provinces was the Congress ministry formed in the election of the year 1937?

(A) 11

(B) 9

(C) 6

(D) 3

Answer: (C)

8. In which one of the following provinces was the Congress ministry not formed under the Act of 1935?

(A) Bihar

(B) Madras

(C) Orissa

(D) Punjab

Answer: (D)

9. After the formation of ministries in the province in 1937, Congress rule lasted for

(A) 28 months

(B) 29 months

(C) 30 months

(D) 31 months

Answer: (A)

10. The Tenure of the Congress ministries formed in the elections of 1937 after the Act of 1935 was

(A) 20 months

(B) 22 months

(C) 24 months

(D) 28 months

Answer: (D)

11. In which Working Committee did the Congress adopted the policy of abolishing land ownership?

(A) Working Committee, 1937

(B) Working Committee, 1942

(C) Working Committee, 1945

(D) Working Committee, 1946

Answer: (A)

12. Muslim League celebrated the day of Deliverance in

(A) 1939

(B) 1942

(C) 1946

(D) 1947

Answer: (A)

13. Consider the following provinces of British India and identify those where the Indian National Congress did not form a ministry in 1937?

1. Central 2. Orissa

3. Bengal 4. Punjab Select the correct answer from the code given below.

(A) 1 and 2

(B) 3 and 4

(C) 2 and 3

(D) 1 and 4

Answer: (B)

14. Who of the following was entrusted with finance portfolio in the ministry formed in U.P. after the election of 1937?

(A) Govind Ballabh Pant

(B) Rafi Ahmad Kidwai

(C) Kailash Nath Katju

(D) Mohammad Ibrahim

Answer: (B)

15. Consider the following reports connected with Muslim grievances in the Congress administered provinces.

1. Pirpur Report

2. Shareef Report

3. Muslim sufferings under Congress rule Select the correct chronological order of the reports from the code given below.


(A) 1, 2, 3

(B) 2, 1, 3

(C) 3, 1, 2

(D) 1, 3, 2

Answer: (A)

Other Relevant Links

Partition of Bengal (1905) and the Indigenous MovementLucknow Session of Congress
Congress Session: Banaras, Calcutta and SuratHome Rule League Movement
Formation of Muslim League (1906)Gandhi and His Early Movements
Morley-Minto ReformsPeasant Movement and Kisan Sabha
Delhi Durbar and Change of CapitalTrade Union and Communist Party